Writer Beware: Many Online Freelance Writing Sites are a Scam!

freelance writing scamsI was recently referred to a freelance job site called AllforFreelancers by a fellow writer at HubPages. I went to that site thinking that it would be filled with serious clients offering steady work at fair prices. Boy, was I wrong. For starters, here is what I located in the biotechnology section of the site:

Article Writers Needed for Long Term Projects – 25+ Articles Weekly

least 3 writing samples in your PMB. If you do not provide any samples your bid will not be accepted.
There will be a trial of 5
Articles/">articles which we will pay for. Once we have established a good relationship and the quality is there the work will be provided on Monday and payment will be sent on the following Monday.
If you do not agree to these terms please do not waste our time or yours.
Our ideal budget for this would be $ 1 – $ 2 per 300
words.

Long Term Article Writers Needed 25+ Articles Weekly

least 3 writing samples in your PMB. If you do not provide any samples your bid will not be accepted.
There will be a trial of 5
Articles/">articles which we will pay for. Once we have established a good relationship and the quality is there the work will be provided on Monday and payment will be sent on the following Monday.
If you do not agree to these terms please do not waste our time or yours.
Our ideal budget for this would be $ 1 – $ 2 per 300
words.

25 Articles on Online Poker of 300 words each

My budget is fix. I will pay 1.5 $ per article, total 37.50 $ for 25 Articles/">Articles. I will not be doing any escrow deposit or advance payment. Payment will be done after completion of the project. I am looking for very quick turn around with excellent quality. Please place your bids with relevant samples and the time you will take to complete this project.

So, let me get this straight…I get to write in-depth articles that span 300 words and the client pays me an entire $1-$2. I like how 2 out of these 3 ads actually require writing samples. My suspicion here is that the same client posted all 3 ads, though why this was done, I haven’t a clue. Good luck finding a writer who doesn’t use a random word generator to create that requested content!

And then, there’s this lovely work "ad":

Organic Chemistry Tutor (208 days ago) Hi I am biology major and during the summer I am planning to take an online class called Organic Chemistry II. Job Description: Since this is an online class I want someone who can do the homework assignments and exams for me. I am willing to pay $750 for this job. Please see the attached file for details. Take care Additional files submitted: (Files are only available Full details
 

I wonder if this biology major’s instructor approved him or her to post such an ad? I love how the title of this ad mentioned "Tutor", because when you’re filling out someone else’s homework assignments and exams, that exactly what you are. Far be it for me to mention anything about cheating here.

Of course, AllforFreelancers.com isn’t the only site making freelance artists question their work ethics and morals. Perusing around another online writing site called WriterBay, I found the following writing requirements posted:

"For Activation of Account the Writer has to fill in the registration form at the Website, pass grammar and 3 formatting styles tests and download diploma scan and original sample essay."

OK, that sounds rather innocent so far, right? However, Freelance Writers, Inc., a group that I am a part of on LinkedIn, state the following issue with the site:

"WriterBay is an academic research mill. In fact, I actually chatted with one of their CS reps yesterday and she confirmed that they do school papers. It’s not only cheap payments but it’s so unethical it’s scary."

Looking over the site’s writing assignments, I noticed that many of them do appear to be academic in nature. If WriterBay is indeed an academic content mill, this would also explain why prospective writers need to submit three formatting styles. The pay is also not stellar; a 1650 word paper on "Thermoregulation in the cold climate" is offering a grand total of $30. An 825 word paper on "Mitigating Risk in Transportation Costs" is offering a whopping $14. Give me a break. Bottom line: WriterBay is certainly a site to be wary of as you look for ways on how to make money and keep your morals intact.

On a more positive note, there are still plenty of online freelance writing sites that offer legitimate writing opportunities. These sites clearly state their payment rates, ways to make additional cash via ads and referrals, and do not ask you to do anything unethical. Click here for my own list of online writing sites that I’ve personally used to make money:

My Experience with Online Freelance Writing Site Textbroker

My Experience with Online Writing Site Associated Content

My Experience with Online Writing Site Constant Content

My Experience with Online Freelance Writing Site Examiner

How to make money through online writing

 

 

4 comments to Writer Beware: Many Online Freelance Writing Sites are a Scam!

  • Yes you are right most are scams ,I consider only textbroker.com is good

  • Thanks for the head’s up on these sites. I don’t know how content mills get anywhere with making money. For the low cost, slave-driving work they push out to writers, they must get incredibly low quality content. Somewhere, somehow online low-quality content must be profitable. I just can’t bring myself to stoop that low.

  • Thank you for your comment, Samantha. I’m not even sure these sites qualify as content mills (like Yahoo Voices), because even there you can make better money through page views. Here, it seems all you do is submit content by the pound and never even share in the generated revenue. I’m just amazed that this kind of garbage still gets produced, since Google has recently cracked down on low quality content

  • TK

    I am surprised how writing continues to feature scam sites that are killing the dreams of aspiring writer. One such site is BLOGGING.ORG.

    I have read many posts recommending that is a good writing site but my experience has really been bad. I wrote my articles on the site only to quit without pay. I did 7 articles of which 6 were approved and one rejected. Today, close to 5 months, my account with blogging.org reads nil. Despite having contacted the admin, nothing has come up. The admin only replied to one mail and from there, they kept silent. This is a new site but its reputation is killing it slowly. Soon or later the big dreams of this site will shutdown. Writers be wary of BLOGGING.ORG

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

|Your Money and Debt Sitemap | Page Ranking Tool Skoobe Link Directory Reverse Dns Blogarama - The Blog Directory